Jenny and Ryan – Lake Lure Inn Wedding – Asheville Destination Wedding Photography

Jenny and Ryan’s Lake Lure Inn destination wedding was a perfect celebration of their love!  From the first time Lisa McMillian of Exquisite Events connected us, I was smitten with this couple.  The main focus of their wedding was to give their family and friends an amazing experience at a this wonderful location.  This sweet, loving and gorgeous couple planned everything from afar, with family and friends all over the country and great wedding vendors helping make it happen.  All the stars aligned to connect them to Lisa and the inn that all helped coordinate their wedding!  Brown’s Floral Design created spectacular arrangements and Tiffany’s Baking Co outdid themselves with the beautiful display on top of the grand piano in the inn.  It was truly my pleasure to get to be their photographer for their big day!!

Jenny shared their story – scroll past the photos to read it in her words.  Their relationship started as an office romance that led to their awesome – and spectacular! – wedding day!  I just have to share it all!!  🙂

It has taken me *forever* to choose favorites from this wedding to share as I loved every moment, the light, the details, the love in the air…swoon!  Hope you love seeing a glimpse of their awesome day!!

In the bride’s words:  ” Ryan and I met in 2010 when he interviewed me for an office supplies sales position.  We were friends for 9 months before we became a couple.  Our coworkers always joked that we were the real “Jim & Pam” from the show The Office.  I knew right away that we would be together forever and so I never really saw the point in putting pressure on him to propose.  I’m glad I didn’t because it came at a COMPLETE SURPRISE.

For my golden birthday, he made reservations at a cute B&B in northern Minnesota.  I went to school in North Carolina and always spent my birthdays on the beach with my friends so the fact that It was rainy and cold on this trip was a bit of a bummer.  We found our way up to our room on the third floor and I was thrilled to see a fireplace with oversized pillows on the floor.  I immediately canon-balled into the pillows and started warming up.  Not 2 minutes had passed when Ryan insisted I sit in the bay window and look at the view.  Still cold, I was a little annoyed at his demand but played along anyway.  He reached in his bag for a little black box.. and that is all I remember of the proposal.  I was so shocked I truly can’t recall what he said, how he asked.. I’m not even sure I let him get on one knee before I shouted “YES”.

When Ryan popped the question we were in the middle of hunting for our first home and ultimately decided to put the wedding planning on hold until we were settled in.  After closing, 1000 sqft of wallpaper removal, chimney repair, and kitchen updates it was finally time to start planning our big day.  Ryan’s family was in Kansas City, and mine was spread out over Ohio and West Virginia so picking a location was a little tricky.  Half way between the families was western Kentucky so that’s where the search began.  I reviewed several venues in beautiful hotels but nothing really stood out to me.  Frankly the pictures looked like every other wedding I’ve ever attended.  The day Ryan proposed his sister was asking him about dates, locations.. and just to satisfy her with an answer he blurted out “Asheville, North Carolina”.  Since we hadn’t had any luck at the half way point, we took our search to the Carolinas.  The Lake Lure Inn & Spa was the first time I got excited about planning our wedding.  I loved the gazebo, the character of the Inn, and all of the history that came along with it.  We were so happy that we found such a unique space that perfectly reflected my and Ryan’s style. 

Our theme was a little conflicting because although we wanted it to be casual, Ryan and the groomsmen wanted to be in black “James Bond” tuxedos which fancied things up a bit.  I wanted all the details to have a lot of character to so I tried to make everything mix-matched.  All of the table decor, pictures frames, even bridesmaids dresses were different.  There were a few moments that I doubted my decision.. but ultimately I think everything came together beautifully.  All of my bridesmaids were in different states, from Alaska to North Carolina, and I was doing a lot of my décor shopping in various thrift stores in Minnesota so I never saw everything all together until my wedding day.  Another big surprise! 

Overall the day was perfect.  I loved that the dancers could bust a move on the dance floor while other guests could enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch and not be bothered by the loud music.  4 weeks after the wedding we are still getting comments from our friends and family on how amazing the whole weekend was.  I also have to say that the day would not have been the same without all of our vendors.  They were all quick to answer my questions and ease my concerns throughout the planning process.  They had also all worked together in the past so they knew exactly what needed to be done in order for the day to go smoothly.  I can’t imagine the past year without them!!!”

Congratulations to this amazing couple!!  I feel lucky to have gotten to know you!  Loved being your wedding photographer and hope you come back to play again soon!!  Best wishes!!

Photography:  Camilla Calnan Photography

Minister: Danielle Baker “The Wedding Lady”

Venue: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn & Spa

Caterer:  The 1927 Lake Lure Inn & Spa

Floral:  Brown’s Floral Designs

Cake/desserts: Tiffany’s Baking Co.

Planner/coordinator: Lisa McMillan – Exquisite Events and Consulting

Musicians and/or DJ:  ATG Entertainment

Bride hair/makeup: Yancey Carter (bridesmaid)

Bride’s dress designer: Allure 8800

Bride’s shoe designer:  Mossimo

 

 

Leave a Reply

