Ice Floe on the French Broad River in Asheville, North Carolina – Asheville Photography

We have been experiencing a really cold snap of weather across the south this year.  After 15 years in the Asheville, NC area, I witnessed and captured something I have never seen.  Huge ice chunks – an ice floe happening – on the French Broad River.  From what I have heard from people who were born and raised here, it has been a really really long time since this has happened.  With this knowledge, I headed to French Broad River park then up onto the Riverlink Bridge to capture this weather phenomena.  Here are a few collages of what I captured.  If you are on instagram, find me @ashevillephotography and see a little cell phone video that lets you hear some of the sound of this craziness.

I hope you enjoy a little glimpse of such a cold winter show!  Thinking of warmer days – and spring soon!!  …and stay tuned as I am heading to some much warmer climates later this week.  The adventures ahead will hopefully bring back tons of amazing imagery as these locations are spectacular, unique and most of all warm!!!  Thrilled to see what I get to see and will share soon after!!

Photography: Camilla Calnan Photography

Location: French Broad River Park and on the Riverlink Bridge in the River Arts District in Asheville, North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

